2022 Dave Hughes Trophy

ICWM chairman Jacques Steyn, who is also general manager of Jordan Wine Estate, was designated the third winner of the Dave Hughes Trophy. Instituted in honour of the co-founder, who was made an honorary CWM of the Cape Wine Academy in 1979, this trophy is awarded annually to the CWM who has made a notable contribution to the Institute of Cape Wine Masters (ICWM), wine education or to the wine industry in general.

Since 2019 Steyn has worked tirelessly to promote the Institute and to raise its public profile via networking within the industry. He espoused the Vision 2030 mission to enhance transformation and handled the logistics relating to the Drinking Windows series in 2021. He also steered the Institute through the rough seas of trading during the successive lockdowns of the Covid-19 pandemic and added its voice to the wine industry’s open letter to President Ramaphosa on the alcohol ban.

Bennie Howard, Jacques Steyn, Debi van Flymen (secretary)