2010 – Pietman Retief

On the 8th of May 2010, the Institute of Cape Wine Masters presented their Wine Personality of the Year Award to Pietman Retief for his contribution to the Wine and Brandy Industry over more than 40 years.

He was the Executive Director of The Brandy Foundation for 12 years and previously headed up the corporate PR division of Distillers Corporation. He is still actively involved in wine tourism and education.


From left to right: Dave Hughes (CWM), Pietman Retief, Duimpie Bayly (CWM) and Bennie Howard (Chairman ICWM)