2007 – Tony Mossop (posthumous)

At the AGM black tie dinner on 05/05/2007 at Reuben’s Restaurant in Franschhoek, the ICWM presented two ” Wine Personality of the Year” Awards.

It has taken two years of continuous effort to find time in the busy life of Su Birch of Wines of South Africa (WOSA) to present the award for Wine Personality of the Year 2005 to her, in recognition of her efforts to increase the exposure and sales of South African wine in export markets.

The second award, the Wine Personality of the Year 2007, was made to Tony Mossop CWM, and accepted by his wife Lyn. We recognised Tony for his efforts to raise the profile of South African wine, locally and internationally, and his widespread influence in professional wine judging, in the Wine of the Month Club, SAA selections, Veritas, Wine Magazine, Diners Club Wine Maker of the Year and Young Wine maker of the Year Competitions. He was, of course, also one of our first CWM’s and a founder member of the Institute.


From left to right: Margaret Fry (Chairperson ICWM), Lyn Mossop (for Tony Mossop), and Su Birch (2005 Wine Personality of the year), Benny Howard (Vice Charmain ICWM)